Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung für die Freiheit

sub-Saharan Africa

Côte d’Ivoire



Fondation Friedrich Naumann pour la Liberté
Rue B32, Lot 143
Prolongement de la rue de l’Indénié
Cocody Danga
06 B.P. 258 – Abidjan 06
Côte d’Ivoire

00225 – 22 48 45 30


The country’s political stabilisation – after democratically elected President Alassane Ouattara took office in 2011 – permitted the Friedrich Naumann Foundation to recommence its work in Côte d’Ivoire.

“Côte d’Ivoire was once West Africa’s leading economy. The country has all the potential to reclaim this title.”

The reconciliation process, security sector reforms and giving the opposition access to the political sphere are indispensable pre- conditions for peace and the sustainable political, social and economic revival of the country.

Côte d’Ivoire was once West Africa’s leading economy. The country has all the potential to reclaim this title. It is paramount that a successful economic recovery is coupled with peace if it is to be sustainable.

The Foundation’s political partner is the Rassemblement des Republicains (RDR), to which president Alassane Dramane Ouattara belongs. The RDR is part of the governing coalition Rassemblement des Houphouetistes pour la Democratie et la Paix (RHDP).

The Foundation supports the coalition by way of training sessions and study tours which, for example, deal with the question of how to form coalitions or the challenges of modern liberal party structures.

Apart from the cooperation with these liberal parties and government groups, FNF works with organisations outside of parliament. The main target groups here are liberal youth associations.

The FNF’s second main focus relates to human rights. Supported by the International Institute of Human Rights of Strasbourg (IIDH) and by collaborating with several Ivorian human rights organisations, the Foundation is able to contribute to the Ivorian reconciliation and peace process. The Foundation’s Abidjan office has already worked on several important projects with its partners in Côte d‘Ivoire.